Dr. Wes Curry Award Winners Honored at Vituity and ACEP’s Executive Leadership Diversity Summit

Published October 11, 2022

Three healthcare champions were recognized for their outstanding contributions to diversity, equity, inclusion, and social justice.

SAN FRANCISCO (October 11, 2022) — At last week’s 10th Annual Executive Leadership Diversity Summit, hosted by Vituity and ACEP, three physicians were recognized with Dr. Wes Curry Awards in Executive Leadership and Social Justice. This annual honor highlights exceptional innovation, collaboration, and culture building by diverse clinical leaders.

Vituity, a multispecialty physician partnership with practices in 18 states and the District of Columbia, has hosted the Executive Leadership Diversity Summit since 2012. Former Vituity CEO Wesley Curry, MD, co-founded the event to provide networking opportunities and to celebrate the specialty’s growing diversity. Today, the summit is held in conjunction with ACEP’s annual Scientific Assembly.

Listed below are the 2022 recipients and the honors they received:

2022 Dr. Wes Curry Award in Executive Leadership Winners

Aisha Terry, MD, MPH — Associate Professor of Emergency Medicine and Health Policy at George Washington University School of Medicine and the Milken Institute School of Public Health, CEO of the Minority Women in Science Foundation, and President-Elect of ACEP

Lynne Holden, MD — Professor of Emergency Medicine at Albert Einstein College of Medicine and President of Mentoring in Medicine, Inc.

2022 Dr. Wes Curry Award in Social Justice Winner

Sandra Coker, MD — Emergency Medicine Resident Physician at University of Chicago Medicine, Founder and President of Black Girl White Coat

“On behalf of my Vituity colleagues, I extend our deepest gratitude to these healthcare heroes for their contributions to emergency medicine,” says Savoy Brummer, MD, Vice President of Vituity and cofounder of the Executive Leadership Diversity Summit. “These leaders represent the highest levels of excellence within our specialty and have worked tirelessly to create opportunities for their stakeholders and improve the care of patients. Their positive impact on patients and the profession will echo for generations to come.”

Aisha Terry, MD, MPH, is the new President-Elect of ACEP. She will serve as President from 2023–2024, followed by an Immediate Past Presidential year from 2024–2025. She is an associate professor of emergency medicine and health policy at the George Washington University School of Medicine and Milken Institute School of Public Health in Washington, D.C. She also serves as senior advisor to the George Washington University Department of Emergency Medicine Health Policy Fellowship. In addition, Dr. Terry is CEO of the Minority Women in Science Foundation, a nonprofit organization that empowers the dreams of future leaders with interests in science careers.

Lynne Holden, MD, was recognized for her work inspiring and preparing thousands of young people for health professions careers. In 2007, she cofounded Mentoring in Medicine, Inc., a national nonprofit that inspires, educates and empowers students to become health and science professionals. To date, MIM’s alumni include 478 Black and Brown physicians. The organization has also engaged 1,200 students through its volunteering and shadowing programs and introduced 8,000 K–12 students to biomedical and healthcare careers. In addition, Holden co-led the creation of a social emergency medicine program within the Jacobi/Montefiore Emergency Medicine Residency Program.

Sandra Coker, MD, founded her outreach organization Black Girl White Coat to “bridge the gap between underrepresented minority students and the medical careers of their dreams.” Coker, the daughter of Nigerian immigrants, started the BGWC YouTube channel as a first-year medical student. She initially hoped to help others like her break into healthcare career fields. Five years later, her growing organization has matched 600 mentees with mentors around the world, provided thousands in scholarship aid, and offered academic resources to students in need. Coker also serves as Diversity and Inclusion Chair for the Emergency Medicine Residents’ Association.

“Each year, it’s a proud moment when we recognize emergency medicine’s most inspiring diversity trailblazers,” says Javay Walton, CDP, Vice President of DEI at Vituity. “It’s inspiring to see how visionaries like our award winners are creating a more equitable future for tomorrow’s clinical leaders and their patients.”

About Vituity

For nearly 50 years, Vituity has been a catalyst for positive change in healthcare. As a physician-led and -owned multispecialty partnership, our 5,000 doctors and clinicians care for nearly 8 million patients each year across 450 practice locations.

Vituity’s patient focus and commitment to clinical excellence are the driving forces that place us at the heart of better care. Our frontline clinicians and business leaders develop healthcare solutions that improve outcomes for patients and hospitals. Our innovation hub, Inflect Health identifies early-stage health-tech companies and facilitates a connection to physicians for testing and our charitable foundation, Vituity Cares, extends our reach into communities that are most affected by healthcare disparities.

Vituity is driven to continually transform healthcare through our collective passion for patients. Learn more at vituity.com.

About the American College of Emergency Physicians

The American College of Emergency Physicians (ACEP) is the national medical society representing emergency medicine. Through continuing education, research, public education, and advocacy, ACEP advances emergency care on behalf of its 40,000 emergency physician members, and the more than 150 million people they treat on an annual basis. For more information, visit www.acep.org and www.emergencyphysicians.org.

Partnering to improve patient lives

Vituity branding with wave pattern footer